top of page

Master’s Degree to Take at Soongsil?

Of course, getting admitted is just the first step to becoming a master’s student in SoongSil. The next step is pursuing the degree. But the real question is:


What is the degree that I should or want to take in the first place?


Before I can answer this question. We need to know first what the available majors are for Master’s at SoongSil.


Here is an overview of their General Graduate School: The Soongsil University General Graduate School strives to secure faculty members with talent, enthusiasm, and personality in every field. As of March 2018, there are 56 master’s degree courses and 52 doctoral degree courses.


The 21st century is a time of new challenges and opportunities. Soongsil University General Graduate School is ready to nurture progressive and talented individuals who are ready to meet these challenges and opportunities. Faculty of Soongsil University Graduate School strive to create the best educational and research environments for the development of professionals with dreams of academic achievement and maximized potential.


You see, it is definitely world class and one of the best schools in Korea.


Their goals are as follows:

  • We train experts in every field who will explore profound disciplines and acquire highly specialized knowledge to open up future society.

  • We don’t just impart knowledge and skills; we train professionals with the right values ​​and good character.

  • We train leaders who will serve society, the nation and humanity.


Just by knowing these things, you can already tell that the school can assist someone like me. A person whose goal is to become successful in education!


Soongsil has many Graduate school departments:

  • Graduate School of Small and Medium Business

  • Graduate School of Information Sciences

  • Graduate School of Social Welfare

  • Graduate School of Education

  • Graduate School of Christian Studies

  • Graduate School of Business Administration


Most probably, I'll be admitted to one of these graduate schools.


I am personally aiming for education and information sciences but I need to consider if they are teaching them in English before anything else.


Here are the courses that Soongsil offers for MASTER’S degree:



I am aiming for the following:


This is totally related to my course - BA Multimedia Studies and a good way to pursue it.


미디어학 (Digital Media)Media Engineering, Contents Engineering, Media art


I can give these a try but this can be a bit too difficult if it focuses on a proficiency in programming.


정보통신융합학 (Information Communication Convergence Technology)Information communication, Media Contents, Chemistry, Sports IT Convergence, Mechanical Engineering


소프트웨어 (Software)Artificial Intelligence, Big-data, Information Security, System Software, Software Engineering, Communication Software


This is an easy way to get in as I already have a great background in English. And I am sure it is taught in English.


영어영문 (English Language & Literature)English Literature, English Linguistics, Christian Literature and Culture


Now, they actually have a very strict evaluation criteria which they grade a total of 300 points.


For documents, it’s a total of 100 points.


And lastly, the interview, which is also 200 points.


One thing that I need to take note of is this:

DOCUMENTS: how good were my grades for my undergraduate degree?

INTERVIEW: My proficiency in English is probably 75-80 points. Understanding of the field actually depends on the course so it's important to choose a degree that I am super aware of. And lastly, my personality should be quirky and nice during the interview and I should be totally interested in the program they are offering..


So here are the possible options that I need to go through. Of course I must think about it very well otherwise it will be a challenge for me to make it through.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page